top of page

Cricket Victoria celebrates 2022-23 Premier Cricket award winners

Essendon Maribyrnong Park captain Makinley Blows and Carlton batsman Harrison Smyth are this morning toasting their success after winning the Una Paisley Medal and Jack Ryder Medal respectively at the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Awards held at the MCG last night.

Blows becomes the fourth player from Essendon Maribyrnong Park (EMP) to win the Una Paisley Medal, joining Jackie Lord in 1986/87, Charmaine Mason in 1995/96 and Clea Smith who won the award twice in 2002/03 and 2004/05. Blows polled 22 votes finishing four votes clear of Dandenong’s Poppy Gardner with Dandenong all-rounder Linsey Smith and EMP teammate Alyssa Humphries tied in third place on 16 votes.

Blows played in 10 One Day matches across the season and finished with 433 runs @ 48.11 with a top score of 112, 10 wickets @ 16.70 (best bowling of 4/34) and five catches. Blows’ performances with the bat saw her finish as the second leading run-scorer in the home and away season, whilst her leadership guided the Bombers to the minor Premiership.

In the Ryder count, Smyth became the seventh Blue to win the Jack Ryder Medal after Keith Stackpole (1975/76, 1977/78 & 1978/79), John Douglas (1982/83), Ian Wrigglesworth (1996/97), Abdul Qadir (1998/99), Carl Hooper (1999/2000) and Michael Allen (2005/06 – tied with St Kilda’s Graeme Rummans).

Smyth who finished runner-up in the 2021/22 count, polled 31 votes to win by one vote over fast-finishing Frankston Peninsula all-rounder James Nanopoulos, with Essendon’s 2019/20 Ryder Medalist James Seymour in third on 26 votes.

Smyth played in 14 matches across the season and finished with 743 runs @ 67.55 with two centuries (top of 123), five 50s and four catches.

Una Paisley Medal

Makinley Blows (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)

Jack Ryder Medal

Harrison Smyth (Carlton)

Women’s Premier Cricket Awards

Women’s Premier Firsts Best First Season Player (June Cole Award)

Jessica Bohn (Dandenong)

Women’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season (Sue Woolcock Award)

Stephanie Townsend (Geelong)

Women’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season

Yolanne Carvalho (Melbourne)

U18 Marg Jennings Cup Player of the Tournament (Meg Lanning Medal)

Matilda Pendergast (Prahran)

Kookaburra Women’s Premier Team of the Season

Makinley Blows – Essendon Maribyrnong Park (Captain)

Bess Heath – Ringwood

Nicole Faltum (wk) – Dandenong

Nipuni Hansika – Plenty Valley

Anna Lanning – Box Hill

Jasmine Nevins – Plenty Valley

Linsey Smith – Dandenong

Poppy Gardner – Dandenong

Katia Jomini – Essendon Maribyrnong Park

Emma Gallagher – Dandenong

Anna O’Donnell – Melbourne

Madison Albers – Carlton

Spirit of Cricket Award


Club Championship


Men’s Premier Cricket Awards

Vic Super Slam Player of the Year (Aaron Finch Medal)

Evan Gulbis (Carlton)

Men’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season

James Doherty (Footscray) & Dhruval Parikh (Richmond)

Men’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season

Brayden Lambden (Casey South Melbourne)

Men’s Premier Fourths Player of the Season

Om Patel (Melbourne University)

U17 Dowling Shield Player of the Tournament

Mikis Vemis (Frankston Peninsula)

Kookaburra Men’s Premier Team of the Season

Blake Thomson – Melbourne (Captain)

Dylan Brasher – Footscray

James Seymour – Essendon

Harrison Smyth – Carlton

Thomas Rogers – Ringwood

Harrish Kannan – Casey South Melbourne

James Nanopoulos – Frankston Peninsula

Liam Banthorpe (wk) – Fitzroy Doncaster

Joe Medew-Ewen – Northcote

Tom O’Donnell – Essendon

Matthew Fotia – Ringwood

Umair Butt – Footscray

Spirit of Cricket Award


Club Championship

St Kilda

Umpire Recognition Award: Glenn Cummings



bottom of page